This website uses cookies to store information on your computer. Some of these cookies are used for visitor analysis, others are essential to making our site function properly and improve the user experience. By using this site, you consent to the placement of these cookies. Click Accept to consent and dismiss this message or Deny to leave this website. Read our Privacy Statement for more.
Sign In   |   Register
Election Committee Members


  • Prof. John Chapman, University of Pierre and Marie Curie, National Institute for Health and Medical Research (INSERM), at the Pitié-Salpétrière University Hospital in Paris, Paris, France

Committee Members

  • Prof. Bo Angelin, Karolinska Institute & Unversity Hospital, Stockholm, Sweden
  • Prof. Maurizio Averna, University degli Studi di Palermo, UNIPA, Palermo, Italy
  • Prof. Geesje Dallinga Thie, Academic Medical Center Amsterdam, Amsterdam, The Netherlands
  • Prof. Luis Masana, Hospital University Sant Joan, University Rovira in Virgili, Reus Tarragona, Spain
  • Prof. Antoni Vidal-Puig, Addenbrooke’s Hospital, Cambridge, UK

Role & responsibility

EAS' governing body is the Executive Committee. Elections to the Executive Committee take place annually, according to the procedures set out in the Society bylaws Article §5 (c) (i). Accordingly, and in line with the Society's status as a non-profit organisation based in Sweden, it is the responsibility of the Election Committee to independently select from the nominations a shortlist of candidates for election.


(c) Election of Office-Bearers and Executive Committee

(i) The names of members to replace retiring Officers or Ordinary Members of the Executive Committee may be proposed by a member of the Society who has obtained the written consent of the nominee. Such nominations shall be sent to the EAS office at least 3 months prior to the election. The nominations will be reviewed by an Election Committee, who will select from them the candidates to stand for election, based on (a) the nominee’s qualifications and suitability for the position (compared with the profile for the ideal candidate published on the Society’s website), (b) geographical spread of candidates and existing EC members and (c) gender balance.

Voting is held via a website-based ballot containing the names of the retiring members of the Executive Committee and the names of the candidates selected by the Election Committee. The completed ballot is submitted through the electronic voting system and is tabulated electronically. A member of the society is selected by the Executive Committee to monitor and review the election results for accuracy."

Membership Software Powered by YourMembership  ::  Legal