This website uses cookies to store information on your computer. Some of these cookies are used for visitor analysis, others are essential to making our site function properly and improve the user experience. By using this site, you consent to the placement of these cookies. Click Accept to consent and dismiss this message or Deny to leave this website. Read our Privacy Statement for more.
Sign In   |   Register
Alberico L Catapano


Alberico L. Catapano was born in Milano in 1952. Received degree from the University of Milano in 1975 and a specialization in Clinical Pharmacology in 1979. From 1972 been involved in the field of Atherosclerosis, Lipids, Lipoproteins and genetic dislypidaemias. From the scientific standpoint Prof. Catapano has made landmark observations regarding the role of HSP’s and of Petranxins in Atherogenesis and on the role of HDL in the modulation of the immune response. Alberico Catapano is Full Professor of Pharmacology at the University of Milano, Director of the Laboratory for the study of Lipoproteins and Atherosclerosis and of the Center for the Study of Atherosclerosis of the Italian Society of Atherosclerosis (S.I.S.A.) at the “Bassini” Hospital. He is also the Director of Center of Epidemiology and Preventive Pharmacology of the University of Milano (SEFAP).

Professor Catapano is Past President of the European Atherosclerosis Society (EAS), the Chairman of EAS Educational, Guidelines & Corporate Activities Committees and the Chairman of the EAS/ESC guidelines for the treatment of dyslipoproteinemias. He holds board positions in several learned Scientific Societies including the Italian Society for the Study of Atherosclerosis ; he is also President of the Italian Society of Clinical and Experimental Therapy (SITeCS) and General Director of the SISA Foundation.

He has authored more than 400 scientific papers in peer reviewed journals and of several books in the area of the Atherosclerosis, Lipoproteins and Lipid Metabolism. He is the editor of Atherosclerosis Supplements and also co editor of “Atherosclerosis” and associate editor of other scientific journals.

Back to all Executive Committee members

Membership Software Powered by YourMembership  ::  Legal