Sign In   |   Register
The Anitschkow Prize in Atherosclerosis Research

Announcing the Anitschkow Prize winner 2017

EAS is pleased to announce that Professor Alan Tall, New York, USA will be the recipient of this year’s Anitschkow Prize. This prestigious Prize, awarded annually by EAS, recognizes outstanding research in the field of atherosclerosis and linked metabolic disturbances.

Professor Alan Tall receives the Prize in recognition of his work on plasma lipoproteins and atherosclerosis. Acknowledged as a an international leader in this field, his contributions include:

  • Discovery of mutations in the cholesteryl ester transfer protein (CETP) gene that are associated with dramatically increased levels of high density lipoprotein (HDL) and reduced levels of low-density lipoprotein (LDL), thus establishing the role of CETP in the regulation of human lipoproteins and identifying CETP as a potential therapeutic target

  • Research on the ATP binding cassette transporters ABCA1 and ABCG1 that promote cholesterol efflux from macrophage foam cells to apolipoprotein A-1 and HDL particles

  • Identification of the key role of cholesterol efflux pathways in the regulation of the proliferation of haematopoietic stem and progenitor cells and the production of pro-atherogenic myeloid cells and platelets.

  • Elucidation of the role of a scaffolding protein TTC39B in the ubiquitination and turnover of liver receptor (LXR), with impact on HDL levels, steatohepatitis and atherosclerosis.

Alan Tall MB BS is the Tilden-Weger-Bieler Professor of Medicine and head of the Division of Molecular Medicine in the Department of Medicine of Columbia University. In recognition of his work, Dr Tall was the recipient of the Irvine Page Award, the Robert I. Levy Lectureship and the Distinguished Scientist Award of the American Heart Association.

Professor Tall has been invited to present this year’s Anitschkow Lecture as part of the Opening Ceremony at EAS Congress Prague, April 23, 2017.

Read more about Professor Tall and his lecture in Prague >>

The Prize

The recipient of the Prize receives the Anitschkow Medal, an award of ten thousand euros in recognition of their contribution to the study of atherosclerosis, presents the Anitschkow Lecture as part of the Opening Ceremony at EAS Congress, and is invited to write a review for the Society's Journal, Atherosclerosis.

Previous Anitschkow Prize recipients are: Prof. Peter Carmeliet, Belgium (2016), Prof. Aldons “Jake” Lusis, USA (2015), Prof. John Kastelein, The Netherlands, (2014), Prof. Peter Libby, USA (2013), Prof. Terje R Pedersen, Norway (2012), Prof. Philip Barter, Australia (2011), Prof. Michael Brown, USA (2010), Prof. Jean-Claude Fruchart, France (2008), and Prof. Göran Hansson, Sweden (2007).

Award criteria

Nominees should fulfil these criteria:

  • recognized for his/her research in the area of atherosclerosis and linked metabolic disturbances.
  • has made outstanding novel contributions to and an impact on the discipline to date.
  • has an excellent track record of publications in the atherosclerosis area.
  • is currently an active researcher.
  • is eligible according to the table below.


  • Candidate nominations may be submitted by an EAS member, and should be supported (seconded) by a peer.
  • Candidate nominations will be evaluated by an independent review panel, according to the criteria given above.
  • Check the table below to make sure;
    • you are eligible to nominate
    • your nominee is eligible to be considered for the Prize
  • Deadline for nominations: September 30, 2016
  • Nominations should be submitted using the online form.
Table of eligibilities - nominators & nominees
May nominate
Considered eligible if nominated
EC member (current & until 1 year after their term is over) no
Chairs & members of subcommittees
    Congress Committee yes
    Award Committee yes
    Election Committee yes yes
    Education Committee yes yes
    Guidelines & Pharmacotherapy Committee yes yes
Others closely associated with EAS
    Consensus Panel Chair yes yes
    Special Advisor yes yes
    ELC Chair yes yes
    FHSC leadership yes yes
    EC member spouse/partner yes yes
    Journal Editor in Chief and co-editors yes no
    Congress Chair yes yes


  • The Society’s Executive Committee will evaluate whether a nominee meets the criteria of eligibility.
  • Eligible nominations will be reviewed by a panel of independent external reviewers.
Membership Software Powered by YourMembership  ::  Legal