This website uses cookies to store information on your computer. Some of these cookies are used for visitor analysis, others are essential to making our site function properly and improve the user experience. By using this site, you consent to the placement of these cookies. Click Accept to consent and dismiss this message or Deny to leave this website. Read our Privacy Statement for more.
Sign In   |   Register
The Anitschkow Prize in atherosclerosis research

About the Prize

The recipient of the Prize receives the Anitschkow Medal, an award of ten thousand Euros in recognition of their contribution to the study of atherosclerosis, presents the Anitschkow Lecture as part of the Opening Ceremony at EAS Congress, and is invited to write a review for the Society's Journal, Atherosclerosis.

Previous Anitschkow Prize recipients are: Professor Helen Hobbs, Dallas, USA (2019), Professor Anne Tybjærg-Hansen, Copenhagen, Denmark (2018), Dr. Alan Tall, the Tilden-Weger-Bieler Professor of Medicine and head of the Division of Molecular Medicine in the Department of Medicine of Columbia University, USA (2017), Prof. Peter Carmeliet, Belgium (2016), Prof. Aldons “Jake” Lusis, USA (2015), Prof. John Kastelein, The Netherlands, (2014), Prof. Peter Libby, USA (2013), Prof. Terje R Pedersen, Norway (2012), Prof. Philip Barter, Australia (2011), Prof. Michael Brown, USA (2010), Prof. Jean-Claude Fruchart, France (2008), and Prof. Göran Hansson, Sweden (2007).

The Anitschkow Prize winner 2020 

EAS is pleased to announce Professor Joseph L. Witztum, San Diego, USA as the recipient of the Anitschkow Award 2020. Prof Witztum will deliver the Anitschkow Lecture as part of the Opening Ceremony at EAS 2020 Virtual Congress, on October 04,  2020.

Read more about the Award and Professor Witztum >>

Nominations for 2021

All EAS individual members are now welcome to nominate a candidate for the Anitschkow Prize 2021. Call for nominations for the 2021 Anitschkow Prize has closed.

Read about the Prize, the criteria and process for nominations below.

Award criteria

Nominees should fulfil these criteria:

  • recognised for his/her research in the area of atherosclerosis and linked metabolic disturbances.
  • has made outstanding novel contributions to and an impact on the discipline to date.
  • has an excellent track record of publications in the atherosclerosis area.
  • is currently an active researcher.
  • is eligible according to the table below.

Nomination process

  • Candidate nominations may be submitted by an EAS member, and should be supported (seconded) by a peer.
  • Candidate nominations will be evaluated by an independent review panel, according to the criteria given above.
  • Check the table below to make sure;
    • you are eligible to nominate
    • your nominee is eligible to be considered for the Prize
  • Deadline for nominations: To be announced
  • Nominations should be submitted using the online form (members only)
Table of eligibility - nominators & nominees
May nominate
Considered eligible if nominated
Executive Committee member (current & until 1 year after their term is over) no
Chairs & members of subcommittees
    Congress Committee yes
    Award Committee yes
    Election Committee yes yes
    Education Committee yes yes
    Guidelines & Pharmacotherapy Committee yes yes
Others closely associated with EAS
    Consensus Panel Chair yes yes
    Special Advisor yes yes
    ELC Chair yes yes
    FHSC leadership yes yes
    EC member spouse/partner yes yes
    Journal Editor in Chief and co-editors yes no
    Congress Chair yes yes


  • The Society’s Executive Committee will evaluate whether a nominee meets the criteria of eligibility.
  • Eligible nominations will be reviewed by a panel of independent external reviewers.
Membership Software Powered by YourMembership  ::  Legal